Thich Nhat Hanh… my zen master…

SPIRITUALITY – I like to think I tend to be a “Man” described by Rudyard Kipling in his famous poem “If…”. So to be brief I try to be flexible, to adapt, and make my own opinion about things and people.

But some of them really influenced my thinking and well-being as a human. First I discovered Buddhism reading the drama of a French actress called Véronique Jannot. Her autobiography, called “Trouver le chemin” in French (“Find the path” in english) was striking and turned me upside down as I learned all the difficulties and ordeals she had in her life, finding in the end the power to be happy and truthful thanks to Tibetan Buddhism.

I wanted to know more as I had lost my religion during my adolescence (maybe I will tell you about that sad fact in an upcoming post…) and was purely amazed by the fact that in Buddhism, there is not any “God”. At all… I was completely ignorant!

Well, I began to read “the Art of happiness” by H.H. the Dalai-Lama, other books by Matthieu Ricard, but the really “life-changing” event happened in Chang-Mai, Thailand, in October 2008 when I was in a bookshop, practicing what I like to do in these special places : mumbling between the rafts, waiting for one book to “pop-up” in front of my eyes.

buddhasteachingsOn that beautiful day, “The heart of the Buddha’s teachings” by zen master Thich Nhat Hanh, stroke my eyes and became one of my favorite books. Since then I read many books by “Thay”, I read the “Tao Te Ching” by the poet Stephen Mitchell, and I “moved” from Tibetan Buddhism to Zen Buddhism…

Anyway, I only wanted to make this small statement on this blog, as a tribute to this huge human being that is now living in France, not far from where I was born 🙂

Leave a Reply

