I have a relationship with Toshiba…

As weird as it may seem, it appeared to me that I must have a “relationship” with Toshiba without even being aware of it. Please do not consider that I have any shares in this Japanese company or something like that. No. I have a French car, a Romanian wife, an American fridge, speak a little german and so on.

It only seems that me and Toshiba have to “meet”, from time to time, when I have to purchase a laptop. The first one was a looong time ago: back in 2002 I was working in Romania and we bought one just passing by in Paris, as we knew that it would be much easier to transport. In fact, there were quite a few models available on sale back at this time: I remember feeling awkward in the airports as we had to show this brand-new piece of hardware… Funny.

First Toshiba Satellite 2002I found on internet a picture of this first “Satellite”, with XP and no webcam. It was a good machine, with a Pentium processor (perfect for playing Civilization 3), but the video card failed eventually and we relied only on desktop machines a few years later. But my story with Toshiba would not end this time, even if I am not “attached” to brands, or so do I think of myself.

Then we bought another laptop – a Toshiba Satellite (once again) – that is still working and in a good shape today, even if the CMOS battery is dead and I feel no urge to change it by myself and perform the “surgery” 🙂 Back at this time in 2007, we had to meet a client and make a presentation (videos, slides), but the first laptop had big issues and we would not wand to take the risk to blow things up (with the screen going blank without notice during our speech), as the contract involved was crucial to us.

So we scanned the offers on internet and… bingo, the winner was – again – a Toshiba “Satellite”, with good speakers as I enjoy hearing music. Anyway I quickly transferred the needed files on our new laptop, we made the presentation and won the contract!

The problem with this laptop occurred that it was preinstalled with the famous “Windows Vista”, and – as millions of guys like me – I got sick of this OS in a few weeks which was rejecting any piece of software I previously worked on. Appalling, and disgusting. I had to get rid of it, and quick.

So I resolved to “downgrade” for the first time in my life: a painful and long process, which lasted almost one day, with my emotions doing the “rollercoaster”. But at last, I had a brand new “Toshiba Satellite XP machine”. Cool.

Then, back in 2013, I knew that Microsoft would end the support for XP so I installed another version, the Windows 7 opus. Once again, I had a brand new “Toshiba Windows 7 machine”. Cool.

Everything was OK but the processor and the small RAM began to generate some problems in my workflow for some tasks, as I wanted to make some “YouTubing” and process some videos, the Celeron processor was not enough anymore to produce HD clips in a reasonable amount of time.

Second and third Toshiba  SatellitesDuring our recent trip in the Rocky Mountains, I was looking desperately in the “BestBuy” shops, searching for offers, and in the end my wife made the decision to buy me a new laptop for my projects, because my wife is so cool, and understanding: we had to chose between 3 brands: Acer, Toshiba, and HP… And the winner was (with big RAM but AWFUL speakers…)… Toshiba Satellite C55 ! A cool piece of hardware at a very affordable price.

So, definitely, as Julia Roberts almost said in “Eat, Pray, Love”: “I have a relationship with my Toshiba Satellite”!

Leave a Reply

